Introducing Carole Smith

Deacon Carole Smith  whose Circuit welcome service will be held at Hedge End on Sunday 3rd September has kindly written some words introducing herself which are below:

I am from Sheffield and although my family is now spread across the north of England I still like to visit the steel city to catch up with friends. I studied librarianship at Loughborough University and went on to work in the civil service and then the NHS blood donor service. I enjoy walking, pottering in the garden, playing the recorder (not in public!), films, theatre, coffee shops, garden centres and charity shops.

I came to faith as a student but left the church for a few years until I began worshipping at a Methodist Church. There I found a home and discovered a ministry of pastoral care, leading small groups and leading worship before candidating for diaconal ministry. I trained in the diverse community of the Queen’s Theological Foundation in Birmingham and have served for five years in Oxford, living and working on a housing estate.

I am delighted to be a deacon in the Southampton Circuit, primarily involved in Hedge End and Woolston churches and their local communities. I look forward to getting to know everyone and to us serving together in the love of God, and in the name of Christ and in the power of the Spirit.

Leave a Reply

